It was great to see, though somewhat  awkward. Middle schoolers are a varied bunch, you’ve got the soon to be 9th graders who are way more mature than the soon to be 7th graders, it is amazing how much growth goes on in those few years.  With all that being said, close to 40 of them rolled up their sleeves and got to work, from painting to weeding and playing with kids to hanging out with mentally challenged adults. It was a stretching week.

I was a little bummed, I didn’t quite have it, I didn’t think I was a very good leader that week? But I was surrounded by incredible leaders, I was so proud of Shannon, Dan and Lauren! On thursday night the Spirit of God moved among us, it was a beautiful sight. Many of our kids have never experienced that and every one was praying for each other, it was right out of Acts Chapter 2.

37 kids went to Atlanta but 37 Brothers and Sisters came back. I pray that the call of God does not diminish in their lives, that they continue to seek after that thin place that was in the basement of an old, hot and steamy church in the wrong part of Atlanta.

