What is a religious fanatic? This was a question posed on a local talk show last week. At what point to people of faith become fanatics or extremists… I thought about it for a while and then i hit a fork in my mental road. One way went like this:

Once you introduce hate, you have crossed a line. When you hate a people group, ideology, race, whatever it is you have become an extremist. Then when you carry out that hate you have become an abomination.

I think it is sound reasoning, it holds water for my rational mind, but then i thought about hate and how hate play a role in my life. Now i am not a fan of hate at all, I detest it infact, I try not to use the word in my speech. I could remember a memory verse vaguely in my head about hating sin. IF I was to be a Christian there was going to be some hate in my life, but specific hate, listen to proverbs:

To fear the LORD is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.
Proverbs 8:12-14

Hate evil, love good; maintain justice in the courts. Perhaps the LORD God Almighty will have mercy on the remnant of Joseph.
Amos 5:14-16Β 

So I am a religious fanatic, I hate evil and love good. I try to die to self daily and pick up my cross and follow Jesus the best I can. What do you think?

